23 from E.V. high schools nominated for Athlete of Year - East Valley Tribune: VarsityXtra

23 from E.V. high schools nominated for Athlete of Year

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Wednesday, April 6, 2005 6:29 am | Updated: 9:36 am, Fri Oct 7, 2011.

April 6, 2005

Twenty-three East Valley prep athletes are among the 51 candidates for the Piper Jaffray Athlete of the Year Award.

The award, which honors the Valley’s top high school athletes for their community involvement, scholastic achievements and athletic talents, will be presented during a banquet at 11:30 a.m. Sunday at Bank One Ballpark.

Guest speakers will include U.S. congressman J.D. Hayworth and former NFL star Ken Harvey.

Local candidates are: Lucy Caldwell (cross country) and Andrew McLaren (golf) of Arcadia; Allison Boyce (badminton) and Ekom Udofia (football) of Chaparral; Stefanie Ewing (softball) and Dustin Kaats (baseball) of Desert Mountain; Andreas Molina (football) and Stephanie Harper (basketball) of Coronado; Dani Goff (volleyball) and John Casale (football) of Saguaro; Frankie Hoffman (football), Alberto Montes (wrestling) and Anthony Robles (wrestling) of Mesa High; Jessica Davis (swimming) and Lindsey Brinkerhoff (volleyball) of Westwood; Aleesha Miller (swimming), Sandy Skousen (cross country) and David Burrows (basketball) of Mountain View; Courtney Casey (soccer), Kayla Pedersen (basketball), Jessica Potter (badminton), Robert Galvan (wrestling) and Ryan Vickery (soccer) of Red Mountain.

  • Discuss


VarsityXtra on Facebook


VarsityXtra on Twitter


Subscribe to VarsityXtra via RSS

RSS Feeds

Your Az Jobs

Arizona HS Football Leaders

Arizona HS Volleyball Leaders

[Stats Courtesy of MaxPreps]