All-Tribune Baseball 2011 - East Valley Tribune: VarsityXtra

All-Tribune Baseball 2011

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Wednesday, June 1, 2011 3:23 pm | Updated: 3:59 am, Sat Oct 8, 2011.

All-Tribune First Team

Player                           School               Pos.      Yr.      Comment

Kevin Cron           Mountain Pointe        C          Sr.     POY set single-season (27) and career (59) state HR records

Joey Curletta       Mountain Pointe       1B         Jr.      Hit .426 with 21 HR, 56 RBI for 5A-I champs

Jamie Westbrook      Basha                 2B         So.     Young star hit .533 with 8 HR, 10 SB

Jeff Paschke      Valley Christian          SS       So.      Hit .620 with 17 HR, 72 RBI for 2A champions

Mitch Nay                 Hamilton                3B         Sr.      Fiesta Region POY hit .495 with 1.071 slugging percentage

Cole Gleason       Red Mountain         OF        Sr.       Hit .500 with 12 HR, 41 RBI, 23 BB

Ethan Springston   Seton Catholic     OF        Sr.        East Sky POY batted .533 with 11 HR, 54 RBI, 19 BB

Garrett Jeffries          Mesquite             OF        Jr.        Hit .509 with 6 HR, 43 RBI for top-seeded Wildcats

Nathaniel Causey     Gilbert                DH        Sr.       ASU commit batted .479 with 13 HR, 49 RBI

Willie Ethington    Mountain View       Util       Jr.        Big game pitcher and dangerous batter for Toros

Zach Davies             Mesquite            RHP     Sr.       12-0 with a 1.68 ERA; hit .405 atop order

Chris Freudenberg   Saguaro          LHP     Sr.        10-0, 1.21 ERA, 60 K’s in 44 2/3 IP

Player of the Year: Kevin Cron, Mountain Pointe.

Coach of the Year: Shane Hilstrom, Perry: Led the 12th-seeded Pumas to the 5A-II championship game.

All-Tribune Second Team

Player                                School             Pos.    Yr.     Comment

Shaun Chase             Desert Vista          C        Sr.      Hit .427 with 13 HR; Reached base 56 percent of time

Chris Akmon                  Saguaro            1B        Sr.     Hit .504 with 9 HR, 56 RBI for 4A-I champs

Scott Kingery          Mountain Pointe      2B       So.     Hit .494 with 10 HR, 39 RBI, 11 SB

Riley Unroe               Desert Ridge        SS       So.     Hit .491 with 9 HR, 57 RBI, 31 SB

Scott Hoffman          Desert Ridge         3B       Sr.      Batted .436 with 15 HR, 65 RBI

Steve Casey                  Pinnacle            OF       Sr.      Co-Desert Valley Region POY

Nick DeRegis              Chaparral           OF       Sr.      Hit .437, 11 HR, 10 2B, 48 RBI, .977 slugging percentage

Brandon Boggs            Higley                 OF       Sr.      Hit .560 with 6 HR, 51 RBI; very good defensively

Ryan Cooper         Valley Christian       DH       Sr.      Hit .545 and set 2A record with 19 HR

Kyle Jorgensen      Corona del Sol      Util        Sr.      Batted .474 with 7 HR; slugged .897

Nick Valenza                Horizon              LHP      Sr.     5A-II first team selection by coaches

Andrew Naderer          Arcadia              LHP      Jr.      8-2, 1.73 ERA with 68 K’s

Honorable mention

Apache Junction: Nick Saathoff, Sr., IF; Arcadia: Brendan Satran, Jr., OF; Thomas Schellhardt, Sr., P; Basha: Anthony Conforti, Jr., IF; Brophy: Dan Graybill, Jr., IF; Joe Maggi, Sr., OF; Chris Beall, Jr. OF; Cactus Shadows: Sean O’Grady, Jr., OF; Joey Ford, Sr., P/OF; Connor Sabanosh, Sr., C; Brent Nurre, Sr., IF; Campo Verde: Ryan Rodriguez, So., IF; Chandler: Eric Barriga, Sr., IF; Kevin Carr, Sr., P; Chaparral: Joey Bielek, Sr., IF; Kyle Toth, Sr., IF; Nick Diamond, Jr., P; Peter Lenstrohm, Sr., P; Corona del Sol: Aaron Siple, Sr., OF; Coronado: Alex Buya, Sr., C; Wyatt Richardson, Sr., IF; Houston Edwards, Jr., IF; Harlan Gatewood, Sr., P/OF; Desert Mountain: David Greer, So.., IF; Drew McLaughlin, Jr., IF; Lucas Jacobi, So., OF; Austin Davis, Sr., OF; Desert Ridge: Dylan Barrett, Sr., P; Justin Donovan, Jr., IF; Dobson: Ryan Starzl, Sr., OF/P; Desert Vista: Casey Thomas, Sr., IF; Colby Woodmansee, So., IF; Ryan Modi, Sr., OF; Gilbert: Drew Stankiewicz, Sr., IF; Gilbert Christian: Micah Izquierdo, Fr., IF; Ben O’Donnell, Jr., P/IF; Hamilton: Trent Goodrich, Jr., IF; Malcolm Holland, Sr., OF; Colton Frabasilio, Sr., C; Jake Andrews, Sr., P; Derek Hill, Sr., P/IF; Highland: Gentry Kinsella, Sr., IF; Nolan Whittlesey, Sr., DH; Cody Moffet, Jr., P/IF; Higley: Kevyn Nunez, Jr, OF; Horizon: John Rubino, Sr., IF; Nick Valenza, Sr., P; Dean Jackson, Jr., P; Marcos de Niza: Nick Fatica, Jr., OF; Dallas Sigrist, Jr., OF; McClintock: David Renteria, Sr., IF; Richard Martinez, Sr., IF; Mesa: Eric Lenz, Sr., IF; Mesquite: Lane Doty, Sr., OF; Justin Rosales, Sr., IF; Seth Fretheim, Jr., C; Mountain Pointe: Anthony Balderrama, Sr., IF; Jordan Kipper, Sr., P/IF; Quinn Tucker, Sr., OF; Mountain View: Hayden Rogers, Sr., P; Notre Dame: Casey Scott, Sr., IF; Brian Poupore Sr., OF; Joey Greco, Sr., IF; Joey Luvisi, Sr., IF; Tayler Scott, Sr., P; Paradise Valley: Fernando Arrelano, Sr., UT; Perry: Alex Burridge, Sr., C; David Walker, Sr., IF; Pinnacle: Kris Ayers, Sr., IF; M.J. Hubbs, So., OF; Jake Winters, Sr., P/IF; Queen Creek: Adam Brzezcek, Sr., P; Julian Sandoval, Sr., OF; Chad Leonard, C, Jr.; Collinn Bonngard, IF, Jr.; Spencer Kottcamp, Sr., IF; Red Mountain: Aaron Smith, Jr., IF; Ryne Dean, Sr., C; Forrest Hendershot, Sr., P; Saguaro: Austin Anderson, Jr., OF; Zach Gibbons, Jr., OF; Brandon Demerest, Sr., IF; Matt Morris, Jr., IF; Kyle Young, Sr., OF; Reed Austin, Jr. IF; Travis Steinheiser, Sr. RHP; Scottsdale Christian: Logan Domenico, Sr., OF; Logan Gansei, Sr., P; Brad Winsbury, Sr., IF; Seton Catholic: C.J. McGrady, Jr., IF; Troy Ruggiero, Jr., P; Skyline: Ricky Alvarez, Jr., IF; Trent Keefer, Sr., P; St. Mary’s: Lucas Treffers, So., OF; Torin Sadow, Sr., IF; Tempe: Jose Flores, Sr., IF; Valley Christian: Will Lane, Sr., P/IF; Tyler Hunt, Sr., P/IF; Westwood: Gerardo Arzaga, Jr., P/IF: Josh Villenueva, Sr., OF; Williams Field: Adam Frank, Sr., P; Jake McDavid, Sr., IF/P; Drew Wahlers, Sr., IF; J.D. Layton, Sr., OF.

Memorable Moments from the 2011 season

The crushing crew:  Mountain Pointe’s offense was prolific from the start of the season until the finish, when Jordan Kipper lined an RBI single to win the 5A Division I state title over Hamilton in extra innings. Catcher Kevin Cron was the biggest bopper, hitting 27 home runs to outdistance the previous record by five. He also set a career home run record with 59. Joey Curletta added 21 home runs on the season and the Pride hit a state-record 87 on the season.

Perry’s push:  The 12th-seeded Pumas went 4-0 to start the state playoffs, defeating the Nos. 1, 4, 5, and 8 seeds to make the championship game without a loss. They had an early lead on Chaparral, but eventually lost to finish as state runners-up. Still, it was an unlikely and impressive run for a Perry team that was worried about simply making the postseason a few weeks prior.

Saguaro’s streak:  The Sabercats repeated as 4A Division I state champs by reeling off 27 consecutive wins at one point, and beating Peoria Sunrise Mountain in the title game. Saguaro had a ton of talent, but still had the focus day in and day, as evidence by setting a 4A record for wins in a season with 34.

  • Discuss


VarsityXtra on Facebook


VarsityXtra on Twitter


Subscribe to VarsityXtra via RSS

RSS Feeds

Your Az Jobs

Arizona HS Football Leaders

Arizona HS Volleyball Leaders

[Stats Courtesy of MaxPreps]