10/27 - Region champions crowned; field finalized for 4A state meet - East Valley Tribune: VarsityXtra

10/27 - Region champions crowned; field finalized for 4A state meet

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Monday, October 27, 2003 8:55 am | Updated: 12:58 pm, Thu Oct 6, 2011.

Qualifiers for this week’s 4A state swimming and diving championships were finalized Sunday, and East Valley schools are well represented.

In all, swimmers from schools in the East Valley take up 114 individual qualifying spots, with some swimmers in multiple individual events as well as relays.

The meet is Friday and Saturday at Arizona State University’s Mona Plummer Aquatic Center.

Among the qualifiers, Cactus Shadows freshman Jaclyn Puschak and Pinnacle freshman Danielle Milligan each advanced thanks to their two individual regional titles Saturday.

Puschak took first place in the Desert Sky Region in the 200-yard freestyle with a time of 1 minute, 56.79 seconds and also captured the region’s 500 title (5:01.86). She also will lead Cactus Shadows’ 200 freestyle relay team, joining Amanda Smith, Veronica Millword and Stephanie Smith, which won the regional crown in 1:47.62.

Smith won the 100 with a time of 54.88, and finished second to Puschak in the 200 (1:58.03).

Milligan won the the 200 individual medley at the Wells Fargo Region meet in 2:13.60 and also captured the region title in the 500 (5:15.95). She will lead Pinnacle’s 400 freestyle relay team, joining Julie Ryan, Sarah Jensen and Brittany Barr, which captured the region title with a time of 3:55.80.

Also capturing girls titles in the Wells Fargo regional were Pinnacle freshman Abigail Zepeda and Barr, a junior at Pinnacle.

Zepeda won the diving competition with a score of 379.90. Barr posted a time of

4A state swimming and diving championships

Boys East Valley qualifiers

200 medley relay — Chaparral, Pinnacle, Arcadia, McClintock, Saguaro, Notre Dame.

200 freestyle — Philip Owen (Saguaro); Tony Eden (Chaparral); Gunnar Schmidt, Kiel Jeffrey (Arcadia); Fili Seanez, Kyle Adler (Notre Dame); Austin Hervey Pinnacle).

200 individual medley — Mitchell Newman, Kris Anderson, Kevin Shiau (Chaparral); Patrick Wilkens (Saguaro); Ryan Kloos Arcadia); Ian Anderson (Desert Ridge); Zach Stevenson, Kyle Kittleson Pinnacle); Joe Scali (Notre Dame)

50 freestyle — Frank Komadina (Valley Christian); Jordan Spector (McClintock); Doug Skinner (Tempe); Luke Kosters Arcadia); Matt Korte (Seton); Colton Slont (Coronado). meter diving — Tommy Turner (Basha); Kyle Anticevich, Bryce Hinkson Chaparral); Scooter Walker (Desert Ridge); Craig Sheedy (Seton).

100 butterfly — Patrick Wilkens (Saguaro); Chris Mallette (Pinnacle). 100 freestyle — Frank Komadina (Valley Christian); Kiel Jeffrey, Luke Kosters Arcadia); Andrew Rozen (Chaparral). 500 freestyle — Philip Owen (Saguaro); Gunnar Schmidt (Arcadia); Mitchell Newman, Tony Eden (Chaparral); Fili Seanez, Kyle Adler (Notre Dame); Austin Hervey (Pinnacle); Matt Schroeder Seton)

200 freestyle relay — Chaparral, Arcadia, Pinnacle, McClintock, Apache Junction, Saguaro 100 backstroke — Kris Anderson, Kevin Shiau (Chaparral); Kyle Kittleson, Chris Mallette (Pinnacle); Ryan Finn (Apache Junction). 100 breaststroke — Ryan Kloos (Arcadia); Jordan Spector, Justin Hull (McClintock); Joe Scali (Notre Dame); Ian Anderson Desert Ridge); Russell Black (Valley Christian); Andrew Rozen (Chaparral); Alex Zinn (Pinnacle).

400 freestyle relay — Chaparral, Arcadia, Pinnacle, Saguaro, Notre Dame, Seton.

Girls East Valley qualifiers

200 medley relay — Chaparral, Arcadia, Pinnacle, Seton Catholic, Saguaro.

200 freestyle — Jaclyn Puschak, Stephanie Smith (Cactus Shadows); Lauren Cox, Nika Tayrien (Chaparral); Arica Jacinto, Lorraine Mulder, Hana Damore (Arcadia); Brittany Barr (Pinnacle); Stephanie Bisgard (Coronado)

200 individual medley — Danielle Milligan, Julie Ryan (Pinnacle); Mikyla Sakurai, Katherine Pickard (Arcadia); Alicia Royal, Jen Hennessey, Stephanie Kay (Chaparral); Danielle Howell (Seton).

50 freestyle — Kelly Forrester (Chaparral); Laura Lundin (McClintock); Annie Lovell (Saguaro); Mallory Graham, Sara Olinger (Valley Christian); Amanda Smith (Cactus Shadows). 1-meter diving — Abigail Zepeda (Pinnacle); Aly Bullock, Leah Schoen, Keely Sullivan (Arcadia); Kasey Odell (Cactus Shadows); Cara Crabtree (McClintock).

100 butterfly — Arica Jacinto (Arcadia); Lezah Huff, Whitney Stroupe (Chaparral); Amanda Smith (Cactus Shadows); Danielle Howell (Seton)

100 freestyle — Lauren Cox (Chaparral); Stephanie Smith (Cactus Shadows); Ashley Tremblay (Arcadia); Brittany Barr (Pinnacle); Mallory Graham (Valley Christian); Laura Lundin (McClintock); CJ Navarro (Desert Ridge)

500 freestyle — Jaclyn Puschak (Cactus Shadows); Katherine Pickard, Ashley Tremblay, Hana Damore (Arcadia); Nika Tayrien, Jen Hennessey, Stephanie Kay (Chaparral); Stephanie Bisgard (Coronado).

200 freestyle relay — Chaparral, Cactus Shadows, McClintock, Arcadia, Pinnacle, Valley Christian. 100 backstroke — Mikyla Sakurai, Lorraine Mulder (Arcadia); Brenna Gormley (Saguaro); Alicia Royal, Amy Radcliffe, Lauren Wells (Chaparral). 100 breaststroke — Lezah Huff, Kelly Forrester, Whitney Stroupe (Chaparral); Julie Ryan (Pinnacle); Rachelle Mortenson (McClintock)

400 freestyle relay — Arcadia, Pinnacle, Chaparral, Cactus Shadows, McClintock, Saguaro, Seton

55.98 in the 100.

In boys action, Notre Dame’s Joe Scali captured the 100 breaststroke (1:07.30).

He also finished second in the 200 IM with a time of 2:16.75.

McClintock junior Jordan Spector captured the Skyline region title in the 100 breaststroke with a time of 1:05.27.

Spector finished second in the 50 in 22.90.

In the East Sky regionals, Chaparral junior Lauren Cox and Arcadia junior Mikyla Sakurai each posted victories in two events on Saturday. Cox won the 200 in 1:58.10 and the 100 in 53.82.

Sakurai won the 200 IM (2:14.50) and the 100 backstroke (1:01.11).

On the boys side, Saguaro’s Phillip Owen was a two-event winner, capturing titles in the 500 with a time of 1:49.55 and the 200 (1:49.76). Owen is the defending state champion in the 500.

A complete list of qualifiers and complete 4A region results can be found online at www.azmarlins.com.

  • Discuss


VarsityXtra on Facebook


VarsityXtra on Twitter


Subscribe to VarsityXtra via RSS

RSS Feeds

Your Az Jobs

Arizona HS Football Leaders

Arizona HS Volleyball Leaders

[Stats Courtesy of MaxPreps]