2012 All-Tribune Baseball - East Valley Tribune: VarsityXtra

2012 All-Tribune Baseball

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Wednesday, June 13, 2012 7:02 am | Updated: 7:26 pm, Wed Jun 13, 2012.

All-Tribune First Team

Player                      School          Pos.  Yr.   Comment

Collin Braithwaite         Perry             C     Sr.    BYU-commit hit .416 with 7 HR, 34 RBI, .888 SLG

Dave Graybill             Brophy           1B    Sr.   ASU-signee hit 11 HR; had 1.463 OPS

Scott Kingery        Mountain Pointe    2B    Sr.    Hit .485 with 8 HR, 36 RBI

Jamie Westbrook         Basha           SS    Jr.    Batted .532 with 13 HR, slugged 1.117

Mitch Nay                 Hamilton           3B    Sr.   Gatorade POY hit .380 with 11 HR, slugged .837

Dylan Cozens          Chaparral         OF    Sr.   POY had state-best 19 HR, including walk-off blast in title game

Chris Beall                 Brophy          OF    Sr.    Batted .413 with 9 HR, 50 RBI; ASU commit

M.J. Hubbs                Pinnacle         OF     Jr.    Hit .431 with 7 HR, 19 RBI; 1.379 OPS

Kyle Jorgensen     Corona del Sol    DH    Sr.    Hit .576 with 9 HR, 34 RBI; 1.577 OPS

Willie Ethington      Mountain View    Util   Sr.    Went 4-2, 1.78 ERA; 57 K, 4 BB; hit .451 with 8 HR

Keaton Cenatiempo   Desert Ridge    P    Sr.     Went 9-2 with a 1.70 ERA; 101 K in 60 IP

Tyger Talley            Chaparral          P    Sr.     Went 6-0 with a 1.85 ERA; 95 K in 53 IP

Player of the Year: Dylan Cozens, Chaparral

Coach of the Year: Mike Collins, St. Mary’s: Led Knights to a 24-5 record and a first-round playoff win over Gilbert after going 13-15 last season.


All-Tribune Second Team

Player                            School          Pos.  Yr.   Comment

David Sandoval           Apache Junction     C      Sr.   Hit 6 HR with 1.402 OPS; great arm behind plate

Anthony Conforti               Basha             1B     Sr.   .440 avg., 9 HR, 28 RBI; .881 SLG, 1.401 OPS

Aaron Smith              Red Mountain          2B     Sr.    Led D-I with .642 OBP; stole 24 bases

Jeff Paschke             Valley Christian        SS     Jr.    Hit .481 with 7 HR, 40 RBI; 1.579 OPS

David Greer              Desert Mountain     3B      Jr.   First-team All-section choice for Wolves

Garrett Jeffries              Mesquite           OF      Sr.   Hit .495 with 2 HR, 35 RBI

Lukas Treffers             St. Mary’s            OF      Sr.   Batted .469, 28 RBI, 33 SB, solid defense

Zach Gibbons             Saguaro               OF      Sr.   Hit .470, stole 32 bases; UA-bound

Josh Moore                  Gilbert                DH      Jr.   Hit .449 BA with 5 HR, 38 RBI in only 78 AB; 1.349 OPS

Spencer Applebach       Mesquite            Util     Sr.   Went 8-0 with 2.28 ERA; OBP of .440, 30 runs scored

Cody Moffett                Highland             P       Sr.   UA signee a first-team All-Division I choice

Andrew Naderer          Arcadia               P       Sr.   Finished 5-2 with 1.94 ERA; 59 K in 54 IP

Honorable mention

Apache Junction: John Converse, Sr., IF; Arcadia: Gary Cornish, Sr., P/OF; Brendan Satran, Sr., OF; Drew Butler, Sr., IF; Brophy: Nick Jewett, Sr., IF; Michael Westra, Jr., RHP; Cactus Shadows: Eduardo Castro, Sr., IF; Campo Verde: Aaron Dotson, Jr. IF; Chaparral: Nick Diamond, Sr., OF; Jeremy Wolf, Sr., DH; Corona del Sol: Josh Ethier, Jr., SS; Nathan Birecki, So., P; Combs: Dustin Burke, Sr., IF; Zak Hunt, Sr., P; Desert Mountain: Cody Erickson, Jr., P; Drew McLaughlin, Sr., IF; Desert Ridge: Riley Unroe, Jr., IF; Desert Vista: Tyler Adams, Sr. IF; Hunter Rodriguez, Sr., P; Dobson: Justin Behnke, Sr., IF; D.J. Carr, Sr., OF/P; Gilbert: Dustin Peterson, Jr., SS; Justin McAllister, Sr., P; Gilbert Christian: Trae Still, Fr., IF; Hamilton: Cody Bellinger, Jr., IF; Patrick Murphy, Jr., RP; Highland: Jordan Peterson, Sr., OF; Higley: Kevyn Nunez, Sr. OF/P; Horizon: Michael McNamaraSr., C; Tanner German, Sr., IF; Marcos de Niza: Nick Fatica, Sr., OF; Noel Rodriguez, Sr. P; Mesa: Brock Hale, Jr., OF; Joseph Eto, Jr., P; Mesquite: Jon Ferrendelli, Sr., P; Jake Howard, Sr, IF; Seth Fretheim, Sr.,IF; Mountain Pointe: Joey Curletta, Sr., IF/P; Kyle Detwiler, Sr. P; Mountain View: Sterling Smith, Sr., IF; Notre Dame: Duncan Morfitt, Jr., IF; Daniel Ziemann, Sr., OF; Kelvan Pilot, Sr., P; Pinnacle: Brock Hartley, Jr. IF; Bryce Colceri, Sr., OF; Eric Melbostad, Sr., P; Poston Butte: Wyatt Pattyson, Jr., IF; Queen Creek: Chad Leonard, Sr. C/P; Marcus Still, So. OF; Red Mountain: Jordan Zimmerman, Jr., IF; John Havird, Sr., P; Saguaro: Chris Akmon, Sr., OF; Reed Austin, Sr., 1B/P; Alan Madsen, Sr., P; Scottsdale Christian: Matt Benefiel, Jr., IF; Clay Crookham, Jr. P; Scottsdale Prep: Matt Munsil, So., SS; Seton Catholic: Troy Ruggiero, Sr., P; Matt Pawlowski, Jr., IF; Skyline: Brian Melendez, Sr., OF; St. Mary’s: Nico Maldonado, Sr., IF; Irvin Ruiz, Jr., P; Antonio Coronado, Fr., OF/P; Tempe Prep: Andrew Otting-Crandall, So., OF; Valley Christian: T.J. Widner, So. IF; Westwood: Gerardo Arzaga, Sr., If; Williams Field: Brandon Amenta, Jr., SS.


Memorable Moments from the 2012 season

The Dylan Cozens saga: Chaparral’s star right fielder was kicked off the Desert Mountain team as a junior and then ruled ineligible for a calendar year following an immediate transfer to Chaparral. The ruling was shortened and Cozens was allowed to play from the start of this year and he had a monster season. He led the state in home runs and broke current White Sox star first baseman Paul Konerko’s school record for homers in a season. Cozens finished his year off in style, hitting a two-run, opposite field walk-off homer to lift the Firebirds to a 5-3 win over Brophy in the Division I state championship game.

Mesquite’s last run: This core group of Mesquite baseball players has made the Wildcats a common fixture deep in the postseason. It was another similar scene this year, as Garrett Jeffries, Seth Fretheim, Spencer Applebach and Co. made it to the state semifinals. Mesquite had a one-run lead with four outs to get, but Brophy rallied for the win, closing an impressive era for this group of Wildcats.

New tournament format: The state tournaments were expanded to 24 teams, with the top-8 getting first-round byes. Once the first two rounds were finished, the final eight teams entered into a double-elimination tournament. Early on there was worry that the power point standings would be skewed and the wrong teams would get byes, but the rankings did work and, for the most part, the best teams finished in the top eight. The coaches seemed to like this format better because the tournament wasn’t as drawn out — previously it was a 16-team double-elimination tournament — and more teams still made the playoffs.

More about

More about

More about

  • Discuss


VarsityXtra on Facebook


VarsityXtra on Twitter


Subscribe to VarsityXtra via RSS

RSS Feeds

Your Az Jobs

Arizona HS Football Leaders

Arizona HS Volleyball Leaders

[Stats Courtesy of MaxPreps]