All-Tribune wrestling team - East Valley Tribune: VarsityXtra

All-Tribune wrestling team

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Friday, April 3, 2009 7:51 pm | Updated: 2:42 am, Sat Oct 8, 2011.

Luke Macchiaroli got a second chance to repeat as a 5A Division I state wrestling champion this winter. He didn’t fail in that quest. As a matter of fact, failure didn’t happen often to Macchiaroli in his four-year career at Tempe Corona del Sol High School.

Macchiaroli helped himself to a second consecutive individual title (215 pounds) and his third in four years. That accomplishment is good reason Macchiaroli is the Tribune wrestler of the year for the second year in a row.

“It’s going to be sad to see him leave,” Corona del Sol coach Dave Vibber said. “For a kid his size, he’s a tremendous athlete. He is relentless on his feet. Rarely if ever was he taken down, especially this year.”

Some of Macchiaroli’s accomplishments at Corona:

• A career record of 176-9 (.951 percentage).

• A school-record 491 takedowns.

• Most career pins (101)

• Most team points (1,013).

• The last two years he was 101-0 at 215 pounds. He was 48-0 in 2009.

Macchiaroli started his career winning a state title at 189 pounds as a freshman. He pinned his opponent in that title match.

“It wasn’t a fluke, and I think the next three years proved that,” Vibber said.

Macchiaroli is headed to Iowa State in the fall where he’ll enter behind a senior at his weight, Jake Varner, who won the NCAA title last month.

“Maybe he’ll take Luke under his wing the first year and then Luke will get his chance at the next level,” Vibber said. “It’s time, and I think he’s ready to move on.”

Macchiaroli has already moved on in a way. This weekend he is competing in the NHSCA National Wrestling Championships for seniors in Virginia Beach, Va. He finished third there competing against other juniors last year.

2008-09 All-Tribune wrestling team

First team

Athlete School Wt. Yr. Comment
Vidal Mejia Chandler 103 So. 5A-I state champ, dominant in injury-shortened year
Chad Done Highland 112 So. 5A-I champ beat unbeaten foe in title match
Daniel Mendoza Westwood 119 Jr. 5A-I champ 47-0, 3 pins and major dec. at state
Shane McGough Desert Mtn. 125 Jr. 5A-I champ avenged loss in final, 2nd state title
Mike Hamel Mesquite 130 Jr. 5A-I champ 44-0, 2nd to win individual title at Mesquite
Josiah Stotts Marcos de Niza 135 Sr. 5A-II champ redeemed 5th-place finish from ’08 at 130
Ben Carrillo Desert Vista 140 Sr. 5A-I champ 34-4, improved 2nd-place finish at 135 in ’08
Ryan Miller Corona del Sol 145 Jr. 5A-I champ 45-3, 3rd at 125 in ’08
Clint Norton    Brophy 152 Sr. 5A-I runner-up 39-5, 4th at 145 in ’08
Derek Felton Corona del Sol 160 Jr. 5A-I state champ 46-0, won thrilling title match
Daniel Covert Highland 171 Sr. 5A-I champ 17-0, beat ’08 champ in final
Zion Galladay Mesa 189 Sr. 5A-I champ 35-3, improved on 6th-place finish in ’08
Luke Macchiaroli Corona del Sol 215 Sr. 5A-I champ 41-0, won third state title in career
Mike Howard Corona del Sol Hwt. Jr. 5A-I champ 40-3, avenged regular-season losses to win title

Wrestler of the year: Luke Macchiaroli, Corona del Sol

Second team

Athlete School Wt. Yr. Comment
Frank Armenta Marcos de Niza 103 So. 5A-II champ won unseeded at state
Isaac Wright Westwood 112 Sr. 5A-I runner-up suffered lone loss in final
Jeff Olmstead Higley 119 Sr. 4A-II state champ 45-2, 4th at 112 in ’08
Victor Montano Mesa 125 Sr. 5A-I runner-up, only losses to 5A-I and 5A-II champs
Marcelo Pachecho Gilbert 130 Sr. 5A-I 3rd-place finisher, wrestled in same region as Hamel
Blake Mabry Highland 135 Sr. 5A-I runner-up 35-2, won 5A-I state in ’08
Emmanuel Del Castillo Higley 140 Jr. 4A-II 3rd-place finish, posted 43-3 season
Adam Pavlenko Marcos de Niza 145 Fr. 5A-II 3rd-place finisher with 27-5 record
Iggy Castro Queen Creek 152 Sr. 4A-II 4th-place finisher with 21-6 record
Ty Johnson Highland 160 Sr. 5A-I runner-up 21-1, lost heartbreaker to Felton
Jake Goddard Queen Creek 171 Sr. 4A-II state champ was 44-5
Richard Breese Coronado 189 Sr. 4A-II state champ improved on 3rd-place finish in ’08
Aaron Pavlenko Marcos de Niza 215 Jr. 5A-II state champ won all 8 matches at 215
Jared Weverstad Desert Ridge Hwt Jr. 5A-II runner-up posted 41-4 season

Coach of the year: Dave Vibber, Corona del Sol

Honorable mention

103 pounds: Matt Purkey, Mesa, So.; Robbie Mathers, Desert Vista, Fr; Trevor Willson, Desert Ridge, Fr.; Ivan Ruyz, Williams Field, Jr. 112: Gabe Ballesteros, Mesa, Jr.; Andrew Patino, Coronado, So. 119: Ty Wheeler, Basha, Sr.; Ryan Cox, Corona, So.; Chris Skoff, Horizon, Jr.; Brigg Solomon, Queen Creek, So. 125: Tyler Lumpkin, Hamilton, Sr.; Brian Petrovsky, Horizon, Sr. 135: Brandon McElveen, Mesq, Jr. 140: Craig Alger, Mesa, Jr.; Dominic Sotelo, Marcos, So.; Dallen Sullivan, Mtn. View, Jr. 145: Tate Huber, Mtn. View, Jr.; Heath Boers, Williams Field, Jr. 152: Blake Ortiz, Corona, Jr. 160: David Lesser, Red Mountain, Sr.; Evan Hillis, Tempe, Sr.; Trace Bowman, Queen Creek, Jr. 171: Colton Kiernan, Desert Vista;Kaylen Hamlett, Gilbert, Sr. 189: Jake Smith, Basha, Jr.; Lance Hyer, Skyline, Sr.; Wes Moore, Queen Creek, Jr. 215: Manual Parra, Mtn. View, Sr.; Daniel Bowman, Queen Creek, Jr. Hwt: Jake Solomon, Mesquite, Sr.; Austin Cormier, Queen Creek, Sr.

Season highlights

Worth the wait: The 5A Conference waited a long time to determine its team champion — Feb. 28 to be exact — but it was worth the wait as Tempe Corona del Sol managed to unseat Mesa High as three-time-defending champ in a tightly contested duel, 25-24.

Corona trailed most of the match but used its strength in the upper weights, including switching Mike Howard and Luke Macchiaroli from their usual classes — heavyweight and 215 pounds, respectively — to secure its final points and pull out the victory. The title was especially sweet for longtime Corona del Sol coach Dave Vibber, who nabbed the top spot for the first time in nearly three decades of coaching.

Wild finish: One of the top matches of the year, particularly because it came in a 5A-I state title match at 160 pounds, was between Corona del Sol’s Derek Felton and Gilbert Highland’s Ty Johnson. Johnson was dominating their championship match with a 9-1 lead after the second period and Felton said his shoulder “popped” while Johnson had him down near the end of that period. Johnson was still leading 11-8 late in the bout against the top-seeded and undefeated Felton when, with 14 seconds left, Felton pulled off an inside trip and pinned Johnson to win his first individual title and complete an unbeaten season.

Title haul: East Valley 5A-II and 4A schools didn’t come away with any team hardware but had their share of quality individuals. Queen Creek 171-pounder Jake Goddard upset top seed Trevor Saxmon of Glendale Raymond Kellis and went on to win the 4A-II title. Gilbert Higley’s Jeff Olmstead beat a region foe for the fourth time in the 4A-II 119-pound final to win a state title over Queen Creek’s Brigg Solomon. Tempe High’s Evan Hillis won the 4A-II title at 160 pounds. Marcos de Niza’s Frank Armenta handed Anthem Boulder Creek’s Tim Ellison his only loss in 51 matches.

  • Discuss


VarsityXtra on Facebook


VarsityXtra on Twitter


Subscribe to VarsityXtra via RSS

RSS Feeds

Your Az Jobs

Arizona HS Football Leaders

Arizona HS Volleyball Leaders

[Stats Courtesy of MaxPreps]