Tillman elected to college Hall of Fame - East Valley Tribune: Sports

Tillman elected to college Hall of Fame

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Thursday, May 27, 2010 9:20 am

NEW YORK — The late Pat Tillman and Heisman Trophy winner Desmond Howard are among the 14 newly elected members of the College Football Hall of Fame.

The National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame announced its latest class Thursday at a news conference at the Nasdaq Stock Exchange in Manhattan.

Tillman played linebacker for Arizona State from 1994-97 and gave up an NFL career to enlist in the Army in 2002. He was killed while serving in Afghanistan in 2004.

Howard was a wide receiver for Michigan and won the Heisman 1991.

The newly elected Hall of Fame coaches are Barry Alvarez and Gene Stallings.

The other players in the new Hall class include Dennis Byrd of North Carolina State; Ronnie Caveness of Arkansas; Ray Childress of Texas A&M; Randy Cross of UCLA; Sam Cunningham of USC; Mark Herrmann of Purdue; Clarkston Hines of Duke; Chet Moeller of Navy; Jerry Stovall of LSU; and Alfred Williams of Colorado.

© 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

More about

More about

More about

  • Discuss

Happening Now...

Your Az Jobs