Help recognize moments that changed our world - East Valley Tribune: Columnists

Help recognize moments that changed our world

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Collin DeWitt is the fire chief in Gilbert.

Posted: Wednesday, August 10, 2011 4:00 am | Updated: 4:17 pm, Wed Aug 10, 2011.

Moments pass by all the time. Sometimes we disregard them as we take a break from those other moments of intense hard work.

Some moments, though, stand out in history - and are important to take note of. Such moments include the instant that the first plane struck the World Trade Towers, and the moment the second one did - instantly stealing the lives of innocent people, and ripping a hole through our nation that we filled with heroism as we came together to heal.

Those moments include the moment a third plane crashed into the Pentagon, and the instant that heroes aboard Flight 93 high above Pennsylvania determined to change history and save untold lives.

As we approach the 10th anniversary of those attacks that stole 3,000 good people from us, and brought us together, we ask you to plan your morning by scheduling these moments of silence with us, marking those instances that continue to resound in our national conscience.

Join us on Facebook and Twitter as we remind people of each #911MomentofSilence. Help us retweet those moments so that we collectively can hear the silence as we remember those lost, and pay the tribute deserved by the heroes that rushed into the buildings, risking their lives to change ours.

I ask you to take out your smart phones and calendars and mark these moments down. No matter what you are doing, join us in these moments of silence and reflection. This tribute will only make us stronger and continue to bring us together as a nation proud of our diversity and character.

Please join us in a seven- to 10-second moment of silence during each of these moments on Sept. 11, 2011:

• 8:46 a.m. EDT (5:46 a.m. Arizona time) - The first plane strikes the World Trade Center.

• 9:03 a.m. EDT (6:03 a.m. Arizona time) - The second plane strikes the World Trade Center.

• 9:43 a.m. EDT (6:43 a.m. Arizona time) - Plane crashes into the Pentagon.

• 9:59 a.m. EDT (6:59 a.m. Arizona time) - South Tower collapses.

• 10:10 a.m. EDT ( 7:10 a.m. Arizona time) - Flight 93 crashes in Shanksville, Penn.

• 10:28 a.m. EDT (7:28 a.m. Arizona time) - North Tower collapses.

Collin DeWitt is the town manager in Gilbert.

More about

More about

  • Discuss

Video: Live Country Music at Bourbon Jacks in Chandler

If you enjoy live country music five nights a week, Bourbon Jacks in Chandler is the place for...

Your Az Jobs