Girl Scouts celebrate 100 years, 100 women of distinction - East Valley Tribune: Ahwatukee Foothills

Girl Scouts celebrate 100 years, 100 women of distinction

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Sunday, August 12, 2012 12:49 pm | Updated: 3:32 pm, Sat Dec 22, 2012.

During the 100th anniversary of Girl Scouting, they are celebrating the impact Girl Scouts has made since 1912. On Dec. 1, Girl Scouts Arizona Cactus-Pine Council (GSACPC) invites the community to the Women & Young Women of Distinction Awards ceremony, where they will acknowledge how they empower girls to reach their full potential. At the ceremony, Leadership, Visionary and Courage Awards will be given to three women and three young women, characterizing their impact on the community.

They will also pay tribute to the 100 women who have been awarded in previous years.

The 2012 awardees are:

Women of Distinction:

• Dr. Anna Solley, president, Phoenix College — Visionary Award

• Darlene Newsom, chief executive officer, UMOM New Day Centers — Courage Award

• Jackie Norton, president/chief executive officer, Rodel Foundation — Leadership Award

Young Women of Distinction:

• Mariah Neal, Paradise Valley High School — Visionary Award

• Catherine Ayotte, Basis High School — Courage Award

• Emily Nugent, Highland High School — Leadership Award

Visit for more information.

More about

  • Discuss

Your Az Jobs