'Ugly Betty' wins at 22nd Imagen Awards - East Valley Tribune: Get Out

'Ugly Betty' wins at 22nd Imagen Awards

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Saturday, July 28, 2007 10:13 pm | Updated: 7:12 pm, Fri Oct 7, 2011.

LOS ANGELES - The TV comedy "Ugly Betty" and the film "Pan's Labyrinth" won top honors Saturday at the 22nd annual Imagen Awards. "Babel," the critically praised movie that weaves stories set in Mexico and four other countries, lost in four categories. The Imagen Awards honor contributions by and about Hispanics in the entertainment industry.

ABC's "Ugly Betty," which has received 11 Emmy nominations, was named best prime-time television program. Its star, America Ferrera, who is in the running for an Emmy, was named best TV actress and also received the Imagen Foundation's Creative Achievement Award.

The show's Ana Ortiz won for best supporting actress.

"Pan's Labyrinth," the surrealistic movie about a young girl who turns to fairy tales to escape the brutality of fascist Spain, was named best picture.

Mexican director Guillermo del Toro got the directing award and Ivana Baquero, the movie's 13-year-old star, was best actress.

Mel Gibson's brutal Mayan epic, "Apocalypto," lost for best picture but Gerardo Teracena and Dalia Hernandez were chosen best supporting actor and actress.

More than 2,000 people attended ceremonies at the Walt Disney Concert Hall.

A complete list of 2007 Imagen Awards winners:


- Best Picture: "Pan's Labyrinth."

- Best Actor: Kuno Becker, "Goal."

- Best Actress: Ivana Baquero, "Pan's Labyrinth."

- Best Supporting Actor: Gerardo Teracena, "Apocalypto."

- Best Supporting Actress: Dalia Hernandez, "Apocalypto."

- Best Director: Guillermo del Toro, "Pan's Labyrinth."

- Best Theatrical Short or Student Film: "La Primavera Communion."

- Best Theatrical Production: "Macho Men & The Women Who Love Them."

- Best Documentary: "Lalo Guerrero, The Original Chicano."


- Best Prime-time Series: "Ugly Betty."

- Best Actor: Miguel Ferrer, "Crossing Jordan."

- Best Actress: America Ferrera, "Ugly Betty."

- Best Supporting Actor: Jose Yenque, "Between."

- Best Supporting Actress: Ana Ortiz, "Ugly Betty."

- Best Variety or Reality Show: "Dancing With The Stars."

- Best Children's Programming: "Dora The Explorer."

- Best Local Informational Programming: "Life And Times."

- Best National Informational Programming: "Voces."

- Best On-Air Advertising: "Splenda: Mama Yo Quiero New."


- Creative Achievement Award: America Ferrera.

- Norman Lear Writer's Award: Cynthia Cidre, writer of the upcoming CBS series "Cane."

- President's Award: Disney-ABC Television Group.

- Lifetime Achievement Award: Walter Ulloa, chairman and CEO of Entravision Communications Corp.


On the Web: http://www.imagen.org

  • Discuss


GetOut on Facebook


GetOut on Twitter


GetOut on Google+


Subscribe to GetOut via RSS

RSS Feeds

Your Az Jobs